VILLAGE OF WAYNE **DIRECTORY OF INFORMATION**

Updated May 10, 2022

I. **DESCRIPTION OF THE PUBLIC BODY**

- > The Village of Wayne operates under the Village form of government, with an elected President and an appointed Village Clerk. The Village was incorporated on September 15, 1958.
- > The elected public body carries out the legislative responsibilities of the Village and consists of the Village President and six (6) Trustees. These elected officials comprise the Village President and Board of Trustees. The Village President and Trustees are elected at large and serve without compensation. The Village Clerk, Village Treasurer, Village Attorney and Chief of Police are appointed by the Village President with the consent of the Board of Trustees.
- > The Village Board has the responsibility to pass ordinances, levy taxes, award contracts, and consent to the appointment of certain Village officers and members of committees and commissions. The Village Board also sets Village policy, including the types and level of services to be provided for the community.
- > The Village President presides over the meetings of the Board of Trustees, signs all official documents and is the Chief Executive Officer of the Village. The Village President has appointment authority for certain Village officers and members of committees and commissions with the consent of the Village Board.
- > The Village Clerk is the keeper of the Village Seal and all official Village documents. The Clerk is responsible for keeping records of all Board Resolutions and Ordinances, minutes of Board meetings, and contracts. The Village Clerk is also responsible to keep records of all deeds and easements granting property rights to the Village, various applications, licenses, and documents related to election proceedings.
- > The Village Treasurer is charged with the custody of all Village funds and the disbursement of funds as approved by the Village Board.
- ▶ For the Fiscal Year Ending April 30, 2022, the operating expense budget for the Village is approximately \$1,743,267.
- The Village has two (2) full-time employees and nineteen (19) part-time employees.

II. CURRENT ELECTED AND APPOINTED OFFICIALS AND EMPLOYEES

> The current members of the President and Board of Trustees are:

Village President - Eileen Phipps

Board of Trustees Mike Amadei Pete Connolly Mike Dimitroff Gary Figurski Ed Hull Emily Miller

Village Board Committees

Administrative – Emily Miller(Chair,) Building & Zoning – (Chair,) Ed Hull, Peter Connolly Development/HARP - Ed Hull (Chair,) Emily Miller Finance – Pete Connolly (Chair,), Emily Miller Public Safety - Peter Connolly (Chair,) All Trustees Public Works – Mike Dimitroff (Chair,) Pete Connolly, Emily Miller

> The current Village Clerk is Patricia Engstrom

The Deputy Village Clerk is appointed by the Village Clerk. The Deputy Village Clerk is Gina Panek

The current Village officials appointed by the Village President with the consent of the Board of Trustees are:

Village Treasurer – Howard Levine Village Attorneys – Mickey, Wilson, Weiler, Renzi, Lenert & Julien, PC Police Chief – Timothy J. Roberts Historic Sites Commission Members and Chair Park Commission Members and Chair Plan Commission Members and Chair Zoning Board of Appeals Members and Chair Two Members of the Police Pension Board

Building and Zoning Director - Michael Gricus

III. VILLAGE-OWNED FACILITIES

> The Village currently owns/rents the following facilities:

Police Station: 31W680 Army Trail Road, Wayne, Illinois 60184 Police Department Finance Department

Administrative Offices: 5N430 Railroad Street, Wayne Illinois 60184 Village Clerk's Office Building Department

Public Works Department; 5N502 Railroad Street, Wayne, Illinois 60184

IV. BOARDS AND COMMISSIONS

<u>A. Plan Commission</u> Nancy Wolfe, Chair Carol Dimitroff Bob Handley Bill Kohl Fred Iozzo

Nancy Wolfe

B. Zoning Board of Appeals

Joe Giagnorio, Chair Heather Howland James Migely Heidi Pearson Christine Doolittle

C. Park Commission

Marie Iozzo, Chair John Carlisle Zach Ingram Marie Iozzo Jim Lorenz

D. Historic Sites Commission

Kathie Connolly, Chair Susan Abbott Deanne Appleton Brian Dempsey Jim Issel Jane Migely Tony Stratton

FOIA Directory

<u>E. Police Pension Board</u> Bob Heitzman (President) Bob Handley (Secretary) (Trustee)